One day at a time

That sounds such a cliché, but it’s so real.  Since the surgery, we have been living like that. One day at a time. My mind rushes ahead, but then I see Frida, and I have to bring that crazy mind of mine back to the moment. It’s a difficult exercise, especially for someone like me, with an active mind (very catastrophic, at times).

Yesterday, after a very sad morning, Frida was just sleeping and looking depressed, we had a very nice evening.  I was getting ready for work upstairs, and Mark was in the kitchen, when Frida jumped from the sofa, and decided to go upstairs to look for me. Mark ran behind her, and she just jumped around us, and licked our faces, and let us know that she was feeling better, at least at that moment.  When I came back from work she was still active and perky! She even wanted to play a little bit with her new toy, a little white lamb, a gift from Alison, the clinic’s administrator, a true angel for us.

Tomorrow is a big day.  We are seeing the oncologist, Dr. Sarah Charney, at Boundary Bay Veterinary Specialty Hospital, in Langley, BC.

How do I feel today? I feel good, I feel strong. I have felt so much love an support from my friends and family, and I feel how my prayers help me. I feel surrounded by love. I feel God protecting us. But I also have fear.

Our good friend Chris sent me yesterday a link to a beautiful website ( Info and Links tab) and there I found this prayer:

God of healing,

please comfort and strengthen Frida during her illness.

Ease her fear and pain, and guide the vet and all caring for her,

that  she may recover fully.

Comfort us, too, God, that we may better care for Frida

and make decisions that are best for her.
Amen.

Leave a comment